Food, Photography, Savory
Comments 5

Lunch with Friends

One of my favorite pastimes is eating, especially when I’m doing so in the presence of good company. Those who know me know that I love food. Not much makes me happier than a well-prepared meal using quality ingredients. I’m constantly looking up new places to eat, whether near home or while traveling. Some days I prefer comfort food staples, and other days I’m hungering for something more exotic. Himalayan, Burmese, Ethiopian—I love them all. Well, I love them all unless there is a lot of cilantro, then perhaps I’ll pass if I can’t pick most of it out of the dish. I’ve learned to tolerate cilantro in Mexican food, but too much of it and I default to icky-face mode.

I introduced a few dear friends of mine to a Vietnamese dish called nem nướng for lunch today. For those of you who are familiar with Vietnamese spring rolls, this is a roll-your-own version with charbroiled pork sausage skewers. We began with an appetizer called bánh bột lọc, which are clear shrimp and pork dumplings steamed in banana leaves. I love dunking them in my mom’s dipping sauce. She makes the best, hands down.

Paul digging in to his bánh bột lọc.

Paul digging in to his bánh bột lọc.

Nem Nuong-1

The charbroiled pork sausage skewers, sprinkled with crushed peanuts.

This is bánh hỏi, which is rice vermicelli woven into bundles and topped with minced shrimp and scallion oil.

This is bánh hỏi, which is interwoven rice vermicelli noodles topped with minced shrimp and scallion oil. This is one of the items that gets rolled into the spring rolls.

The finished product. Minus any cilantro. ;)

The finished product. Minus any cilantro. 😉

John's first roll. An edible masterpiece!

John’s first roll. An edible masterpiece!

Carmencita in action. Look at all the layers of flavors and textures!

Carmencita in action. Look at all the layers of flavors and textures!

Lunch was a success and we all enjoyed ourselves. We finished off with these amazingly creamy honeydew popsicles. Paul liked them so much he had two and we sent him home with extras for his family. I’m so glad my friends love food as much as I do. 🙂

Honeydew popsicles to top off our lunch.

Honeydew popsicles to top off our lunch.

And a post isn't a post without a picture of Bailey. He's pouting because he didn't get to make his own roll.

And a post isn’t a post without a picture of Bailey. He’s pouting because he didn’t get to make his own roll.

5 Comments

  1. C Tachera says

    I am happy to say that I was a participant in this feast. The photos show all the deliciousness of the meal. Not only was the food very savory, but creating it was fun. Thanks Patty and MyHau!!

  2. ken nguyen says

    Could not make it home…but enjoyed the food tonight! Thanks! One of favorite meal.

  3. Myhau says

    I really enjoyed this company. We had good food, nice friends and Patty is always a wonderful host. That’s my girl!:)

Please tell me what you think!

