Photography
Comments 3

September 11

Every year, the good folks at Acampo Construction set up a 9/11 Memorial in West Sacramento. The memorial has 400 American flags and 3000 small flags, and they represent the lives lost in the attack. I didn’t get the chance to take pictures this year, but here are some of my favorites from last year.

I still remember the morning of September 11th quite clearly. The summer before my second year of college was coming to an end and I was getting ready for work at the campus library when I received the phone call about the attacks. The second tower was still standing when I turned on CNN and I remember the shock of watching it collapse. I initially thought it was a replay of the first tower and my jaw dropped when I realized what was happening. Something else I remember from those attacks is how our country stood together, united in our grief. I remember the flags and flag stickers that so many of us proudly displayed on our cars. I remember being extra proud of our country. I wish we could all stand together like that more often, during the good times, and not just the bad.

This is in memory to all the beautiful souls who were lost, and the families and friends they left behind.

The memorial at sunrise.

The memorial at sunrise.

9-11 Memorial-2

9-11 Memorial-3

9-11 Memorial-4

9-11 Memorial-5

9-11 Memorial-6

3 Comments

  1. Bailey's friend says

    I remember these photos. I like the shots. You caught them at a good time of the day.

Please tell me what you think!

