Teaching
Comments 5

Holiday Mail for Heroes

This is the third year my students and I have participated in the Red Cross’ Holiday Mail for Heroes Program. It is one of my favorite projects and I am so glad I have made it a yearly tradition. The students create cards that are quite touching and heartwarming. They really get into the spirit and put a lot of thought and effort into their work. Most students want to make more than one card so I give them free reign. Each year I invite Carmencita’s class to join us and this year the elementary class came over as well. It’s nice to see the different levels of students working together in one room, toward one common goal. I love it!

Here is a little more info about this program from the Red Cross website:

Each year the American Red Cross provides assistance to more than 2 million service members and many of our nation’s 24 million veterans. We support military families, military and veterans hospitals and provide emergency communications across the globe. And once a year, we get the joy of delivering holiday greetings to veterans, military families and active-duty service members at hospitals and installations around the world.

The cards and personal messages, sent by tens of thousands of Americans, provide a welcome “touch of home” for our troops during the holiday season. Each year we collect cards between October and early December and then distribute them at military installations, veterans hospitals, and in other locations.

Here are some shots of my kids in action:

 

This project makes me want to be an art teacher. But then I remember how badly I draw.

This project makes me want to be an art teacher. But then I remember how badly I draw.

I buy big books of nice scrapbooking paper for this project. The kids love the pretty papers.

I buy big books of nice scrapbooking paper for this project. The kids love the pretty papers.

Drawing a chubby little Santa.

Drawing a chubby little Santa.

This student has some serious skills. He also designed the cover for our school yearbook.

This student has some serious skills. He also designed the cover for our school yearbook.

I told this girl that I liked how her card matches her nail polish.

I told this girl that I liked how her card matches her nail polish.

Everyone loves stickers. Especially my boys. They used the most.

Everyone loves stickers!

These cards are a great creative outlet for the kids, especially since we don't have an art class.

These cards are a great creative outlet for the kids, especially since we don’t have an art class.

Some of the finished products. Happy Holidays to our troops!

Some of the finished products. Happy Holidays to our troops!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

  1. CTachera says

    Although my students have this fear of joining another class, they sure enjoy the experience. Thanks Patty for giving us the opportunity.

  2. Bailey's friend and Patty's partner says

    Great activity for your students! They can learn so much and contribute as they do. Lovely photos.

Please tell me what you think!

