Adventures, Food
Comments 14

Fiesta Friday | Selland’s Market Cafe

Last year two of my colleagues and I started a weekly tradition. We call it Friday Lunch. Looking forward to Friday Lunch is what gets us through the week sometimes! Fridays are our designated off-campus lunch days. Some Fridays we try new places, and other Fridays we have our favorite repeats. We always make sure to plan ahead in case one of us has a random Friday meeting, in which case, we change Friday Lunch to Thursday Lunch. Thursday Lunches are not as fabulous, but much better than not having our lunch outings at all.

This Friday we made our first trip to Selland’s Market Cafe and fell head over heels in love. So much so that we considered having a Monday Lunch just so we can go back for another meal. The food was delicious, the cupcake was the best I’ve had in a long while, and the vibe was spot on. We briefly considered getting back in line for round two, but thought that would be a bit much. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I ordered the pork banh mi and Paul decided on the prime rib sandwich. (Our third musketeer has Friday obligations for the next six weeks so she was only there in spirit.) The banh mi came with roast pork, pickled daikon and carrots, jalapenos, and sriracha mayo. It was the best non-Vietnamese banh mi I’ve ever had! Paul’s prime rib was so good he was done with it plus his dessert before I even got to my cupcake. Now that’s what I call good eatin’!

It's not a very pretty sandwich, but the flavors were outstanding.

It’s not a very pretty sandwich, but the flavors were outstanding.

My cranberry orange cupcake, complete with a candied cranberry on top. I could eat five of these in one sitting.

My cranberry orange cupcake, complete with a candied cranberry on top. I could eat five of these in one sitting.

 

 

14 Comments

  1. John Miller says

    Maybe this could become a Patty Wagon choice in the future, ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. CTachera says

    Lunch on Monday? I’m in!! My student has a doctor’s appt. So I am free. I am craving for their stuffed blue cheese romaine.

  3. Love banh mi no matter how it’s made! Sriracha mayo takes it to another level, yes? And how cute is that cupcake! I bet I could beat you, I bet I could eat six. Lol…

  4. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #2 | The Novice Gardener

  5. Banh mi has been a part of my life since childhood, but I gave them up when I became vegan. Not vegan anymore but still can’t eat pork. Even so, my mouth waters whenever I see one of these sandwiches. A place in Athens actually has a vegetarian version (made with tempeh) and I dare say that I can’t tell the difference.

Please tell me what you think!

