Adventures, Food
Comments 19

The Cultured & The Cured

This Friday we discovered another lunch spot due to Carmencita’s extensive knowledge of East Sac. This is what we do at lunch during the week–talk about what our lunch on Friday will be. We’re a very food-focused group, you see, and we don’t mess around when it comes to Friday Lunch. As Paul says, “Friday Lunch isn’t just lunch, it’s an occasion.” Truer words have never been spoken.

The Cultured & The Cured is our latest discovery and it is a sweet little spot full of artisan cheeses and cured meats. I was in fatty pork heaven. I ordered the grilled cheese with roasted mushrooms and caramelized shallots on focaccia, plus a small charcuterie plate to share. Lunch was delicious, the folks were super nice, and I was full until 8 o’clock. Now that’s what I call a filling lunch!

Pork fat is my bff. (Don't tell Bailey I said that.)

Pork fat is my bff. (Don’t tell Bailey I said that.)

Cowgirl Creamery's Mt. Tam is my favorite cheese of all time. Ever. You are missing out if you've never had it.

Cowgirl Creamery’s Mt. Tam is my favorite cheese of all time. Ever. You are missing out if you’ve never had it.

More cheese!

The good stuff.

Hellfire Sriracha. I'm almost afraid to try since regular Sriracha is already plenty spicy for me!

Hellfire Sriracha. I’m almost afraid to try it since regular Sriracha is already plenty spicy for me!

Pretty food makes me happy.

Pretty food makes me happy.

Cheesey, mushroomy goodness. The caramelized shallots put it over the top.

Cheesey, mushroomy goodness. The caramelized shallots put it over the top.

19 Comments

  1. CTachera says

    It was truly delicious! Even if Greg isn’t nice to you, take him anyway but make him pay.

  2. This looks amazing–exactly, if not better than, what we might find in some spots in SF. Will have to pass this on to my family out there!

  3. Patty! This looks so good. We were in Sacramento in December just for a day and were looking for someplace nice to have lunch and ended up at the Golden Bear. Only if we knew you earlier! 🙂 but we did run into a really nice dessert place. It’s called Rick’s Dessert Diner. We absolutely loved it.

    • You were in my neck of the woods?! Eeeck, next time you’ll have to let me know ahead of time! What did you have at the Golden Bear? My favorite is their sausage pizza. Oh so good. And Rick’s Dessert Diner is always fun! Sign me up for rotating displays of cake any day!

      • I had the vegan veggie burger but we also had the sausage and slaw pizza and both were great. And at Ricks we were like little kids in a candy shop- such awesome cakes!

  4. How oh how in God’s name did I miss this post? A grilled cheese sandwich with those buttery ridges, filled with shrooms and shallots . . . . . could woo even the most irritable and discontent into a state of happy docility. Oh, my, I want one.

Please tell me what you think!

