Photography
Comments 74

Blood Moon (April 15, 2014)

It is 1:45 AM and here I am, sitting at my computer, feeling irritated that my blood moon shots didn’t turn out the way I wanted. I’ve taken moon shots before and they weren’t as difficult since the moons were brightly lit. Silly lunar eclipse took all the good, usable light away. You’d think that a $500 tripod set-up would solve my problem, but nooo, I still had camera shake since my lens was heavy, coupled with an awkward upward angle. Bleagh. Anyway, I decided that the solution to this problem would be this awesome lens:

Screenshot_2014-04-15-01-28-54

 

Notice how much it costs!! Oh my gravy! I sent this to my father as a joke and asked if he would get it for me as a present. He responded with “lol”…which must be his nice way of saying NO! πŸ˜‰

Anyway, here is the shot I decided was decent enough to post. I asked the BF, aka Mr. Alfredo, for some constructive criticism. His response:

“It looks like a picture.”

He must be tired, too. That must be it.

After some playful chiding (on my end), he suggested I try a panoramic crop. So here it is! Now I am off to bed. Luckily I am on spring break and don’t have to worry about teaching tomorrow (or today, rather)!

**If you click on the picture to enlarge it, you’ll be able to see more of the stars!

 

Blood Moon-2

 

74 Comments

  1. I like the mood of this panoramic crop, the way the stars twinkle, the subtle ring of light that surrounds the moon, and of course the orange-red glow. I feel suspended in space when I look at it enlarged. It’s beautiful and thought-provoking, Patty!

    • Thanks, Laura! The difference between the original crop and the panoramic was pretty significant. I’m glad you enjoyed the photo. πŸ™‚

  2. LOL – I am with your Dad! First thing I did was open the lens picture – oh my – I need one of those! Maybe someone might put one on layaway for me! Your picture is stunning Patty – you should be very proud of it πŸ™‚

  3. Lauzan says

    How wonderfully beautiful, Patty! Thanks for this amazing picture! It’s great (my humble opinion!) !! And no extra lens needed…(geez! the price is unbelievable!) I would have loved to see it ….

  4. Thank goodness you took the picture, which is stunning, btw, ‘coz I couldn’t wake up like I was supposed to. Oh well, there’s always next time. Think I’d still be alive?

    • Haha, whatever, Angie! This is the first of four blood moons in the next year and a half or so. The next one will be on October 8, then April and September of 2015. Plenty of chances to lose sleep! πŸ˜‰

  5. Amazing!! You are so hard on yourself- what are you talking about?!?! I can’t wait to show your photo to my kids this morning!! πŸ™‚

  6. It’s beautiful! I’m mad at myself that I missed it, but I am not on spring break nor any kind of break. I really need to talk to HR about getting one of those religious exemption thingies for new year… πŸ˜‰

  7. Gorgeous Patty! I’m so happy I was able to witness the blood moon via you, as the skies here in Michigan were filled with snow clouds (yes, snow, ugh) obscuring our view 😦 And what are you talking about? This shot is beautifully perfect!

    • Snow?? Nancy, I’ve been sweating bullets over here! The blood moon was actually sort of underwhelming to the naked eye. It was more brownish than anything. However, the lens was able to capture the red, rusty color since it zoomed in a lot closer than I can with my eyeball! πŸ˜€

  8. Oh wow Patty. The shot gave me goosebumps…uh that sounds weird ;). Well the point is it is a stunning click. Beautiful capture of the unsaid vast nature. The beauty of the moon speaks a thousand words here…actually multiply it by gazillions :).
    I enlarged it and saw the diamonds scattered all around the moon. How beautiful those stars look in moonlight…
    A gorgeous click all in all. I would have painted it on canvas if I had more patience.
    Hugs!

    • Thanks, Sonal!! I was surprised to see the stars in the photo! I wasn’t able to capture any the last time I took pictures of the moon. Now I want to take more star pics! I find it so amazing that my camera was able to do that. It makes me feel just the tiniest bit closer to space! *hugs!!*

  9. Well, the picture is gorgeous so I am not sure why you were frustrated . . . you wanted to see more stars, right? Why not a Kickstarter campaign for your camera toys?

    • Thanks, Sue! It’s not that I wanted to see more stars–I wanted to get closer to the moon and capture tons more detail!! And I don’t do anything spectacular enough for a Kickstarter campaign, hehe. πŸ˜€

    • Ahhh, ignore my question about what your kids think back in the comment up there! I’m so glad they liked it! And better than NASA? Best compliment EVER, Josette!!! ❀

  10. I thought about staying awake, but after the day of school I had yesterday, I just couldn’t! Looks so awesome still though!

  11. We had no view of it ourselves, as Ontario was also covered in rain and snow clouds. But if we had seen it, no chance of us getting a picture anything like yours, so a big thank you.

    • It’s my pleasure, Hilda! The moon didn’t appear as bright or red in person, but the camera lens was able to zoom in and capture more color. My boyfriend came out to take a look and was not very impressed. He thought it would be more dramatic than it was. πŸ™‚

  12. Um, who needs a $17,000 dollar lens when they can shoot like you Patty!!! I LOVE this! And the stars? Wow. Will show my hubby tonight…he’s very into space stuff…thank you! πŸ˜‰

    • I would love to rent that lens for just one day. I might skip town and go into hiding with it! πŸ˜‰ I was so excited to see the stars pop up in the photo. I didn’t think so many would show up! I hope your hubby liked the shot and please hug Studmuffin Fred for me! πŸ˜€

  13. This is gorgeous, Patty! No need for fancy, crazily priced lenses! I missed the eclipse altogether but got to enjoy it through you. Thanks for staying up late on your night off! πŸ™‚

  14. Wow! This photo is so beyond beautiful, Patty! ❀ May I ask what lens did you use? πŸ˜€

  15. I think your photo captured the blood moon perfectly. Unfortunately, it was obscured by clouds here.

  16. You really are a gifted photographer. The blood moon is gorgeous (a steller job). I have always wanted to go to Carmel, what a nice get-a-way (did Baiely get to join!).

    What a week; I could use a Spring break (perhaps I should consider teaching, I think I am going to try and pick up a class next year).

    • Thanks so much, Stacey! You should definitely pick up a class! I love teaching even though it wears me out most days! πŸ˜‰

  17. It’s a beautiful image and really like the panoramic crop.

    I missed the eclipse (which is so annoying!) but I am very grateful to at least have the chance of looking at other people’s photos. Thanks for sharing!

  18. Oh my gravy is right! Or in this case bloody H E double hockey sticks! I forgot to whip out my camera during the blood moon, but your photograph came out stunning Patty!

  19. That is gorgeous, Patty. Living in Tokyo, I forget there are stars in the sky.
    About the shake, did you try triggering with the mirror up or with the timer, or both?

    • I used a wireless remote for the shots. I don’t think the mirror lock-up would have helped much in this case since the camera was tilting downward just ever so slightly. Ah well. I lost enough sleep over it. Literally! I only got three hours that night! πŸ˜›

  20. That is just an amazing shot, youve no idea how great that is. How did you get that colour….I had no idea you were such an amazing photographer and cook, is there no limits to your talents?

    • The moon was that color through the lens! The photo is much better than what I saw with my naked eye. And yes, there are so many limits, Justine. You’ll laugh so hard once you read the entire list!

  21. The photo is amazing… You should have questioned it… But I get that, I do that too. πŸ™‚
    You won me over with the moon, I only wish I can photograph it that up-close, but I don’t have the equipment. Did you have to buy telescope lens for that?

    • I used my 70-200mm for this, Ivy. I wish I had an even better zoom! A girl can always dream, right? πŸ™‚

      • Someone dreams for a better mascara, I dream for a better zoom πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the follow, I hope you will find lots of interesting things on my blog like I did on yours πŸ™‚

      • Glad we share the same expensive dreams, Ivy! Hah! I’m so glad we’ve discovered each other’s blogs! πŸ™‚

Please tell me what you think!

