Photography
Comments 52

A-Z Photo Project | K is for Keepsake

My parents are high school sweethearts. They met in the coastal town of Nha Trang, Vietnam where they both grew up. My father and his family later moved to Saigon, but my parents stayed together and my dad came to visit my mom when he could, which was only a couple of times a year. When the war ended and Saigon fell in 1975, my father posted flyers in the city, searching for anyone who could give him information about my mom. Luckily my parents had a happy ending and recently celebrated their 33rd wedding anniversary.

My mom and dad are pretty amazing people. They have gone through the unimaginable and it’s amazing to see where they are today. I still need to get a post about our journey to America on the blog one of these days. Summer vacation is almost here so I’ll make that one of my first projects.

Getting back to this post–K is for keepsake and this is a journal of drawings and poems my mom made for my dad when they were teenagers back in Vietnam. I have always known my mom is talented, but her drawings and script in this book are incredible. I can’t draw to save my life so I guess those genes must have skipped over me! πŸ˜€

 

K is for Keepsake

52 Comments

  1. CTachera says

    What a wonderful love story. You have an artistic talent too and it’s photography.

  2. Beautiful keepsake, Patty, and such a lovely story about your parents. My parents also met in Nha Trang! Such a small world we live in. Hang in there, summer’s almost here. πŸ™‚

    • What are the odds? What a coincidence that your parents met there as well. I wonder if they all know each other??

      Thursday can’t come soon enough. I’m pretty sure I’m more excited than my students. πŸ˜‰

    • You should make a book for me. It would be romantic. That can be your summer project, okay? Okay. Thank you. Bye.

    • Thank you, Priya. My mom’s drawings are fantastic and her handwriting is so perfect it looks like a computer font. πŸ˜€

  3. Wow! Your parent’s story is amazing!! What a blessing to get to hear it!! What a special journal! Big hugs Patty! ❀

  4. What a lovely story, Patty! And indeed your Mom has a very beautiful talent. ❀

  5. That’s beautiful, Patty. Your mom is as talented as her daughter, it seems. πŸ™‚ Their love story is captivating. I just love listening to parents’ love stories. I’m just so nosy!

  6. Oh Patty what a beautiful story and I can’t wait to read more about your families journey. That book is gorgeous, don’t say the gene skipped you because it didn’t you may not draw or paint with oil or ink but you are an artist with your camera. I think you are tremendously talented.

    • You’re so sweet, Suzanne. I still wish I could draw though. You should see my stick people. Sometimes I can’t even get them right! πŸ˜‰

  7. Beautiful :). Is that written in French? You didn’t skip that in your genes Patty, you just adapted it it different skill that is photography and cooking and being a super happy and friendly girl, which for me is an art form too :).

    • Yes, the writing is French, Sonal. Vietnam was colonized by the French for a period of time and there are a lot of influences in our culture, especially with food and language. We have pretty great baguettes and pastries because of this! πŸ™‚

  8. That is an amazing story! If your mother has those genes I bet its in you somewhere. All you gotta do is start practicing! I once thought I couldn’t draw and started practicing. We all start somewhere. πŸ™‚

  9. What a special keepsake! Thanks for sharing about your parents, too–what a wonderful story!

  10. Awww. That’s such a lovely story! Wonder if we’ll get to see the entire book? πŸ˜‰

Please tell me what you think!

