Adventures, Photography
Comments 30

2015 12-Month Project || October

October was a whirlwhind of activity and photography. Here are my highlights from this month.

Photo #1
Title: Connected

Amanda was my student back in 2011. I can’t believe it has been four years! This is one of my favorite images of their family of three.

October

Photo #2
Title: Mother Daughter

Jane and I met in the 9th grade and quickly became best friends. Oh, how sad I was when she and her family moved back to Korea! This is the second year I’ve taken their family photos. The icing on the cake this time was that I got to see her sweet parents again after all these years! ❀

October-2

Photo #3
Untitled

Stacy and I finally met in person last month when I did her family photo session. (We’ve been photography friends on social media for several years now.) This time we teamed up and had the best time photographing the Bay Bridge at night. This shot was taken from the pier, looking back toward the city.

October-4

Photo #4:
Title: San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge

October-3

Photo #5:
Title: Brooklyn Bridge

So the beginning of this month found me in San Francisco, and the end of this month found me clear across the country in New York. This is a view of the Brooklyn Bridge and New York City skyline. You can see both the New World Trade Center and the Empire State Building in the distance. A big thanks to my brother and his girlfriend, Sofie, for making sure I got a good night shot. πŸ™‚

**Please click on the image for a bigger and better visual. πŸ™‚

October-5

Photo #6 (Series of 4 images)
Title: Never Forget

10 years ago, we took our first family trip to New York. Ground Zero was still under construction then. This time we visited the New World Trade Center and the National September 11 Memorial. Words can’t describe the feeling and emotion seeing the huge memorial pools where the two towers once stood.

October-6NY2015-89NY2015-92NY2015-91

Selfie Bonus:

Another trip to NY means another visit with Suzanne from A Pug in the Kitchen. Suzanne and I met for the first time the summer before last and I am so glad we got to meet up again this year! We had even more time together this visit, complete with a walk around Prospect Park (where she snapped a few great pictures of my family–with me in the photos!) and lunch at Speedy Romeo’s. Oh, the food and company were grand. She fit right in with my family and my dad chatted her up with all sorts of real estate questions. She even gave us a jar of delicious strawberry jam. It was so good! Suzanne, I can’t wait until next time. ❀

SuzanneSelfie

30 Comments

  1. Wow!!! These photos are awesome. I love them all. And we sure had a fantastic time in NY.:)

  2. Gosh Patty!
    Loved all the clicks! The human emotions so well captured in the portraits!
    The landscapes are breath taking. I loved the New York skyline and bridge photos. Breath taking beautiful! Th lighting and the effect…all of it!!

  3. Patty as always your photo’s are amazing and beautiful and capture the very spirit of your subject. I was thrilled and honored to meet your family and so very happy to see you again. I will treasure our photo together and hope we see each other soon. Thank you!

  4. Wonderful photos, Patty. I haven’t been to Ground Zero yet, so I especially appreciated those shots. Your night photos are great, too!

    • Thanks, Stacy! I’m signing up for the Aperture Academy workshop tonight. Let’s coordinate and plan on meeting afterward if you’re still available!

  5. Wow, such beautiful photography Patty. You truly are a genius. I love all those pictures taken in different lighting, truly amazing! Of course having met Suzanne again had to have been the icing on the cake, she’s such a dear! Keep us inspired by your photography skills. πŸ™‚

  6. That lead-in is something else! Those colours. There’s just something about Manhattan. Every other city outside of New York failed to impress.
    How wonderful to see both you and Suzanne!

    • It was an overcast evening and the photo came out a beautiful shade of pink from all the lights! It was incredible. My mom liked the image in camera so much she was worried I would edit away the color. πŸ™‚

  7. sarithakumbakkara says

    Both you and Suzanne are looking gorgeous in the pic! It’s so cool to catch up with a friend!

Please tell me what you think!

