Adventures, Photography
Comments 39

2016 Monthly Photo Project || March

Photography is my therapy. It is the only thing that can completely consume me and ward off any wayward thoughts. It usually makes me happy, unless I screw something up like accidentally flinging my wireless remote over a barbed wire fence, or inadvertently over-tightening a tripod knob so that I can’t unscrew it for the life of me. Or when I learn I have to send my camera in for service because Nikon likes to annoy me by selling me faulty cameras. But really, other than that, photography is pretty fun. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Photo #1
Title: ย Blue Hour Bridge

El Niรฑo brought us much needed rain this winter. The Sacramento River swelled up and even flooded in some parts. Here is a shot of the Tower Bridge. Check out how high the water level is (was).

March-2

Photo #2
Title: ย El Dorado Twilight

Sometimes you just have to pull over on the side of the highway to take a few shots.

March-3

Photo #3
Title: ย Sutro Baths

This image took some patience. Too many people were there on a Friday night, but I knew I would outlast them. I set up my tripod, plopped down on the ground, and willed everyone away. As you can see, my Jedi mind tricks worked beautifully. Not a soul in sight.

March-4

Photo #4
Title: ย Sausalito Pier Pilings

Finally, I have my first pier shot. I have been wanting to take photos of piers for quite some time now. Soon, I shall have a collection. It will be named Patty’s Piers. Or perhaps not. I haven’t decided yet. ๐Ÿ˜‰

March

Photo #5
Title: ย Pier with a View

Look, guys, you can see the San Francisco skyline! This shot was taken after I messed up my tripod and was irritated at the world. I’ll be heading back to this location at some point in the future when I have pliers on hand (just in case). Hopefully there will be a better sunset then as well.

March-5

39 Comments

  1. Your photos are just exquisite and are inspiring me to get out there and take pictures of other subjects, aside from food! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Have you got the faulty camera problem sorted yet? Your photos are so gorgeous and I can’t wait to see the photos you come up with in the middle of this year ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Patty as always every photo is just beautiful, breathtaking and masterful. Sorry you are experiencing some technical difficulties your work always inspires me๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•

  4. Love the Sausalito Pier shot… it’s gorgeous! Well, all of the photos are, but that one spoke to me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Patty’s Piers? … love it!

  5. Gosh these are mind blowing. Makes me want to go take a class and spend thousands of dollars on equipment. I am curious to know the lens you used for the shot where you willed everyone away. The sky lines!!!!! Such a sense of movement and stillness at the same time in that photo I just love it. It’s my favorite shot of this post. I know what you mean by the therapeutic aspect of photography. It is wonderful to find a creative outlet that can function in other ways too. Ever since my camera went fritz I have been feeling depressed.

      • Hi Patty, I chatted online with the fellas who sold me the camera over at B & H photo and they told me that there is probably nothing major wrong with my camera that I should take it to an authorized Canon repair shop and see what they say. I am eyeing an L series 50mm 1.2 lens or possibly a macro. Dunno.

  6. Oh but I forgot to say . . . when the f are you going to post more food shots ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Absolutely stunning Patty. All of the photos are just striking, love the colors and the contrast on many of them. Well done ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Love all these beautiful night shots, Patty! You must have some patience to wait for the Sutro Baths to be totally clear — and I can’t imagine what caused you to fling your remote over the fence ;)…Glad to hear your having so many fun adventures with your photography! All so beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

Please tell me what you think!

