Adventures, Food
Comments 62

Portland Eats and Treats (Day 2)

Now for Day 2 of my trip to Portlandia! If you missed it, click here for Day 1!

Good thing I walked a lot during my stay in Portland (I think I averaged a few miles each day). I desperately needed to work off all the food I consumed over such a short period of time! Here are the restaurants, bakeries, and cafes I visited on Day 2:

 

Lovejoy Bakers 939 NW 10th Avenue Pictured:  Lovejoy Deluxe  Breakfast sandwiches are served all day here, which is fantastic because while I don't eat breakfast, I am a glutton for breakfast foods. This amazing, yet unassuming, sando had a fried egg, bacon, blue cheese, and frisee on ciabatta. One of the best things I ate in Portland. The ciabatta was perfectly toasted, light, and crispy. So simple, yet so perfect.

Lovejoy Bakers
939 NW 10th Avenue
Pictured: Lovejoy Deluxe
Breakfast sandwiches are served all day here, which is fantastic because while I don’t eat breakfast, I am a glutton for breakfast foods. This amazing, yet unassuming, sando had a fried egg, bacon, blue cheese, and frisee on ciabatta. The roll was perfectly toasted, light, and crispy. One of the best things I ate in Portland.

 

Nuvrei Patisserie & CafΓ© 404 NW 10th Avenue Pictured:  Parisian Macarons Before I talk about the macarons, let me just say that I don't trust Yelp. I use it, yes, but I have found that some of the best reviewed spots don't live up to my expectations, yet places I adore may not have the highest reviews. That said, I was sorely disappointed that I didn't love these macarons. At $34 per dozen, you'd think they'd blow my skirt up. Sadly, they did not, and they were so uninspiring that we even forgot them in the hotel fridge when we checked out the next day.

Nuvrei Patisserie & CafΓ©
404 NW 10th Avenue
Pictured: Parisian Macarons
Before I talk about the macarons, let me just say that I don’t trust Yelp. I use it, yes, but I have found that some of the best reviewed spots don’t live up to my expectations, yet places I adore may not have the highest reviews. That said, I was sorely disappointed that I didn’t love these macarons. At $34 per dozen, you’d think they’d blow my skirt up. Sadly, they did not, and they were so uninspiring that we even forgot them in the hotel fridge when we checked out the next day.

 

Nong's Khao Man Gai 1003 SW Alder Street I am a big supporter of food trucks and the mobile food movement. The Portland mobile food scene is pretty neat in that there are pods of food carts around the city. There are over 600 food carts and I only had time (and stomach room) for one stop. Oh this pains me.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai
1003 SW Alder Street
I am a big supporter of food trucks and the mobile food movement. The Portland mobile food scene is pretty neat in that there are pods of food carts around the city. There are over 600 food carts and I only had time (and stomach room) for one stop. Oh, how this pains me. πŸ˜‰

 

Nong's Khao Man Gai 1003 SW Alder Street Pictured:  Khao Man Gai (Chicken and Rice) Nong's Khao Man Gai only serves one dish:  chicken and rice. And now I understand why. This is a Thai version of Hainanese chicken and rice, or what we call cΖ‘m gΓ  HαΊ£i Nam. The chicken and rice is packaged up in a small paper bundle and comes with the most incredible dipping sauce. This sauce is so good they've bottled it and sell it in select Portland stores as well as online.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai
1003 SW Alder Street
Pictured: Khao Man Gai (Chicken and Rice)
This food cart only serves one dish: chicken and rice. And now I understand why. This is a Thai version of Hainanese chicken and rice, or what we call cΖ‘m gΓ  HαΊ£i Nam. The chicken and rice is packaged up in a small paper bundle and comes with the most incredible dipping sauce. This sauce is so good they’ve bottled it and sell it in select Portland stores as well as online. You can bet I’ll be getting myself a bottle (or two)!

 

Behind the Museum CafΓ© 1229 SW 10th Avenue Pictured:  Matcha Green Tea Latte and Matcha Brownie This sweet little cafe serves Japanese tea, drinks, and food. The latte was delicious and the matcha brownie was perfect--buttery, with just the right amount of sweetness, and filled with walnuts. There was no chocolate or cocoa in it so the name "brownie" is a bit of a misnomer.

Behind the Museum CafΓ©
1229 SW 10th Avenue
Pictured: Matcha Brownie and Matcha Green Tea Latte
This sweet little cafe serves Japanese tea, drinks, and food. The latte was delicious and the matcha brownie was perfect–buttery, with just the right amount of sweetness, and filled with walnuts. There was no chocolate or cocoa in it, so the name “brownie” is a bit of a misnomer. But call it whatever they want, because I’ll gladly eat my fair share (and then some)!

 

Cacao 414 SW 13th Avenue Pictured:  Burnt Sugar, Scotch Chocolate, Hot Chocolate If you love chocolate, you must visit Cacao. They have a great selection of high-end, quality chocolate. No Hershey's here, that's for sure! Thank goodness! :P

Cacao
414 SW 13th Avenue
Pictured: Burnt Sugar, Scotch Chocolate, Hot Chocolate
If you love chocolate, you must visit Cacao. They have a great selection of high-end, quality chocolate, plus delectable chocolate drinks.

 

Piazza Italia 1129 NW Johnson Street Pictured:  Bruschetta, Bucatini all'Amatriciana, Linguine Squarciarella The bruschetta was the best part of the meal. The pasta was average, and although I am a big fan of salt, they were a tad on the salty side for me. Another example of how Yelp and I have differing opinions. :)

Piazza Italia
1129 NW Johnson Street
Pictured: Bruschetta, Bucatini all’Amatriciana, Linguine Squarciarella
The bruschetta was the best part of the meal. The pasta was average, and although I am a big fan of salt, the pastas were a tad on the salty side for me. Another example of how Yelp and I have differing opinions. πŸ™‚ I wish we didn’t end our last night in Portland on this note. Ah well, there’s always next time!

 

Stay tuned for my last day in Portland! Well, it was more like half a day, but that didn’t stop me from hitting up a few more spots. πŸ˜€

 

Don’t forget to check out Days 1 and 3!

Portland Eats and Treats (Day 1)

Portland Eats and Treats (Day 3)

 

 

62 Comments

  1. Lovely Patty! I just finished writing our Charleston eats and now I see this. I don’t seem to get enough of it. Love your pictures. We’re never brave enough to tug along our camera to restaurants.. we’ll probably take some inspiration from you now. SO lovely to see you guys had a lovely time in Portland.

    • Aditi, the trick is to take the camera to casual spots! Then you’ll feel a-okay! Promise! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see your post on Charleston!

  2. I thought your first post was your whole weekend of food! You guys were busy πŸ˜‰ I love how you said that it pains you to not be able to hit up more food trucks — I always feel that way! I want to try that sauce – yum!

    • Hahah, this made me laugh, Neely. Told you I was on a mission! That sauce was so good! I could eat it on plain rice and be happy. πŸ™‚

  3. You have made some good rounds. I have a list of favorites that I will share when you find yourself there again. I love Portland; such a great city to visit (I love staying at the Ace Hotel (on a top floor with your own bathroom).

    What kind of sauce is it at Nong’s? Do they sell through their website?

    I love your thorough, honest reviews. Nicely done. I feel a weekend trip coming on soon.

    • Oh, I’ll definitely need your list, Stacey! The sauce at Nong’s is a magical combination of ginger, garlic, and soy. And yes, they sell it through their website. πŸ™‚

  4. Love the idea of the matcha “brownie” and the chicken, rice and sauce must have been amazing. I don’t really rate Yelp either – Tripadvisor is much better, I think.

  5. Oh, I’ve been looking forward to this all day . . . Truly funny: ” . . . should have blown my skirt up.” Good one, Patty. Also, that chicken and rice, however you say it, is one of my favorite dishes in the summer, it is so . . . I don’t know, clean tasting. I really want to get a massive cleaver knife just so I can property hack up a chicken for that dish. That Matcha I’m going to call it a blondie . . or a greenie, looks so dense and moist! I am starting to see Matcha everywhere right now . . . in scones recently. Great post! Can’t wait to see more!

    • Yes, chicken and rice is so good, isn’t it? My mom makes a delicious version where she shreds the chicken by hand and tosses it with vinegar, sugar, salt, and pepper. Then she adds thinly sliced white onion and Vietnamese coriander and serves it atop the rice. I’m craving it right now as I describe it to you! Good call on the blondie–that’s a much more fitting name for it! I wish I had a few right now to nibble on while I wait for dinner!

  6. I’m salivating…great pictures as usually! Looks as if you successfully ate your way through Portland. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh my Patty! What a best treat over the break! I loved the ciabatta sandwich and yes I love the smells coming from food trucks! That matcha green things are quite intriguing :).

  8. Portland is a great foodie town. It is also a center of micro brewing. My fave Oregon brew is Rogue Dead Guy. By now you might understand why. Hug Bailey for me.

      • Well, depends on your sense of humor. πŸ™‚ It’s quite funny…in an awkward Pacific Northwest way. You can watch short episodes online. It is a satirical comedy about folks in the Pacific Northwest with all it’s quirks and whatnot. πŸ™‚ “Is the Chicken Local” is a good example of the quirkiness I’m talking about, or ‘put a bird on it”.

  9. Pingback: Portland Eats and Treats (Day 1) | Patty Nguyen

  10. Great post, Patty! I love seeing the bits from your travels – it looks like I would really enjoy Portland!

  11. Pingback: Portland Eats and Treats (Day 3) | Patty Nguyen

  12. Those macarons look so good, I’m surprised they didn’t taste that great! But it sounds like you had plenty of other yummy food–sounds like you had a fun trip! πŸ™‚

    • I was surprised as well, Nancy! But yes, there was plenty of other delicious food to make me happy! πŸ™‚

  13. I too have had the same experience when a restaurant gets rave reviews and then does not come even close, pure disappointment! But I suppose people value different things and flavors . πŸ™‚ but at least some of your food was just wonderful!

    • Isn’t it such a let down?? I’ve learned to take reviews with a grain of salt. Sometimes more like a boulder of salt! πŸ˜‰

  14. This all looks so great! I didn’t get a chance to visit the food trucks when I was there, so I am living vicariously through your chicken and rice photo. That matcha brownie and tea sure are green!

    • Oh, so many food carts, Ngan! Whole city blocks of them! And yes, my matcha goodies were a nice vibrant green. I miss those brownies!

  15. Oh my. I also visited Cacao years ago and still have vivid memories of sipping that delectable cup of dark chocolate. It was so rich it took me nearly an hour… maybe the best hour of my life πŸ˜‰ Great pics and story – makes me want to go right back and eat my way through Portland.

  16. For a few days you knocked out the top places! Love nongs, nuvrei, & pok pok wings!!! Omg! Glad you had a eating feast here. Xoxo! You gotta plan a trip out this way to explore the nature next time!!!

  17. Stephanie @ The Cozy Cook says

    Your pictures are RIDICULOUSLY good!!! AHHH and the food looks amazing! I feel like I just had this experience myself, thank you!!!!

Please tell me what you think!

